Kultejas News
Cricket

IND vs ENG DRS Controversy Still Alive: Third umpire in controversy over decision on Rohit Sharma after Ajinkya Rahane

Chennai
Controversy over umpiring seems to be growing in the second Test between India and England. On the first day, the third umpire was targeted by critics for the wrong decision on the vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, and on the second day gave a controversial decision on Rohit Sharma. From the social media to the decision on Rahane, the former cricketers also questioned the umpiring.

In fact, the second ball of Moin Ali, who came for the 13th over of India’s second innings, was hit on the pad of Rohit Sharma. England appealed the out, but England took DRS after the field umpire was declared not out. In replays it was clearly seen that he was hiding his bat behind the pad and the ball is on the pad. The ball was bowled outside off in replays and his impact was also out side. Here the third umpire felt that Rohit is playing the shot, while Rohit was denied when asked about it. It was also seen in the video that Rohit was padding. At that time Rohit was playing for 21 runs.

Read- Chennai: Graveyard Chepak pitch for batsmen, 15 wickets fell on second day, India heavy on England

In this way, Joe Root looked disappointed after the second disputed decision. He went to the on-field umpire and also had some conversations. England also had to lose their review here. The commentators, including Akash Chopra, were also critical of the umpire regarding this decision. Chopra said, ‘What is right is right. How can there be wrong decisions like this? ‘ Well, by the end of the second day, India had scored 54 runs for 1 wicket. Rohit Sharma 25 and Cheteshwar Pujara are at the crease scoring 7 runs. Based on India’s first innings, the lead has been 249 runs.

What happened the first day
On the other hand, there is a dispute over umpiring on the first day. In the 75th over of India’s first innings, Jack Leach’s ball fell to forward short leg fielder Olly Pope, touching Rahane’s glove. England took DRS after the on-field umpire turned down. Where the third umpire Anirudh Chaudhary dismissed the review thinking that the ball went outside the leg stump and the visiting team appealed for a leg-before.

Read – English could not even score runs like Rohit, forget about Ashwin’s deadly bowling

Third umpire realized the mistake
However, after a few moments it became clear that Chaudhary had made a mistake and the England Review was reinstated. The third umpire’s decision has received tremendous response on social media. There has been backlash from former England captain Michael Vaughan to Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell.

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

x