Kultejas News

rajasthan royals won first ipl: today's day: rajasthan royals became the first champion of IPL – this day in cricket history rajasthan royals becomes the champion of inaugural ipl

Edited By Bharat Malhotra | | Updated: 01 Jun 2020, 10:36:00 AM IST

Rajasthan Royals became champions under the leadership of Shane Warne

new Delhi

This was the first season of the Indian Premier League. The attitude of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, which survived T20 cricket, had changed. The board recognized the future in the format after it won the World T20 in 2007. So, the league final which started in April was played on this day in the year 2008. Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were face to face in this final match.

Rajasthan Royals won the toss and elected to bowl first. Chennai put up a challenging score of 163 for five. No one had paid more attention to Rajasthan's team in this tournament. There were many young players in the team. Other teams were full of stars. But under the magical captaincy of Shane Warne, this young team beat the teams adorned with many big names.

Rajasthan Royals star Yusuf Pathan was batting strongly. Captain Shane Warne was with him. Rajasthan's team needed 21 runs off 14 balls, then Pathan was run out after scoring 56 runs off 39 balls. Sohail Tanvir came to support Warne. The Pakistani bowler had done wonders with the ball in this tournament but now he had to bat.

Warne and Tanveer worked to propel the score. In the last over, Rajasthan needed 8 runs to win. Laxmipathy Balaji scored 2 runs off the first three balls. Now the remaining three balls required six runs. The team of Mahendra Singh Dhoni's captaincy was now looking heavy.

But the match was reversed on the fourth ball. Balaji bowled wide outside the off stump. Tanveer let him go and Parthiv Patel could not catch the ball properly. The batsmen changed ends. That is, the Royals got two runs without a valid ball. Warne took a run on the fourth ball. Now three runs were required on two balls.

Tanveer flicked the fifth ball, which was a full toss and scored two runs. Last ball and one run needed. Beats had increased. The last ball was a little short and Tanvir pulled it in the direction of mid-on. Warne and Tanveer changed ends in time. And the result was Rajasthan Royals won by three wickets. She became the first IPL champion team.

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More