Kultejas News

Today in 2007, India beat Pakistan in a ball out in T20 World Cup

Today in 2007, India beat Pakistan in a ball out in T20 World Cup

new Delhi
The T20 World Cup was being played for the first time in 2007. Cricket’s short-form World Cup was hosted by South Africa and today (14 September 2007), the two arch rivals India and Pakistan were face-to-face for the first time in a T20 match. The match played at Kingsmead in Durban became a tie, after which the decision to win the match was defeated by a ball-out. Here Team India defeated Pakistan 3–0 to win the match.

From Team India, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag and Robin Uthappa hit the stumps, while Pakistan’s three players including Shahid Afridi, Umar Gul and Yasir Arafat missed their respective targets.

No intention to play with India, first remove political differences: PCB

Team India, playing this tournament under the captaincy of MS Dhoni before the ball out, scored 141/9 runs in the scheduled 20 overs, batting first here. Captain Dhoni contributed 50 in this match and Robin Uthappa contributed 33 runs. Mohammad Asif took 4 wickets for Pakistan.

Pakistan, chasing the target, was in trouble and had lost the wickets of its 5 batsmen, reaching 87 runs here. Misbah-ul-Haq scored an excellent innings of 53 runs but he was run out in the final over of the match and the match was tied at 141-141.

Now the match had to be decided by ball out. In this shortest format of cricket, then there was a rule of a ball out in case of a match tie, ie both teams will throw 5 balls at the stumps without the batsmen and the team that hits the stumps more often in these 5 will be the winner.

Harbhajan, Sehwag and Uthappa had bowled balls from the Indian side and all three had hit the stumps, while Afridi, Gul and Arafat got the job from Pakistan but all three players could not do so. India had an unbeatable 3-0 lead here, so there was no need to throw the last two or two balls out, and Team India made this match in their name.

Later both these teams had reached the final of this tournament and here too India defeated Pakistan in the exciting final to capture the first T20 World Cup title.

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More