Kultejas News

Today In Cricket History: When India won the under-19 World Cup for the fourth time, Australia was dusted

new Delhi
India won their fourth ICC Under-19 World Cup on today’s day i.e. 3 February 2018. India defeated Australia by 8 wickets in the final. The match was played at Mount Moungnui. India got promising players like Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill from this tournament itself.

Talking about the match, the Indian bowlers had stopped Australia for 216 runs in the final. Left-arm spinner Shiva Singh took two wickets for 36 runs. Australia won the toss and decided to bat first. India bowled tightly and did not let Australia bat the entire 50 overs. Apart from Singh, Ishan Porel, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Ankur Roy took two wickets each.

The Indian team had not lost any match in the tournament and the team was also considered a favorite in the final. The target of 217 was not a big one and the pair of Prithvi Shaw and Manjot Kalra added 71 runs for the first wicket. Sau was bowled by Sutherland for 29 runs. After this, Shubman Gill came to support Kalra.

Gill scored 31 runs to take the score to 131. Even after his dismissal, Kalra held one end and scored fast. He was well supported by wicketkeeper Harvick Desai, who scored 47 not out. But the Indian innings hero was Manjot Kalra, who played an unbeaten innings of 101 off 102 balls.

India had earlier won the Under-19 World Cup in 2000, 2008 and 2012 as well. Prithvi Shaw and Shubman Gill have played for the Indian team in the World Cup playing team last year. While Savu made his Test debut against the West Indies, Gill made his ODI debut against New Zealand.

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More