Kultejas News

Women Big Bash League: Sydney Thunder become champions for the second time, defeating Melbourne Stars in the final

Sydney Thunder stunned and clinched the Women’s Big Bash League title for the second time on Saturday. In the final played at North Sydney Oval, the Melbourne Stars batsmen could not do anything special in front of the bowlers of the Thunder team and scored 86 runs after losing 9 wickets in 20 overs. In response, the Sydney team achieved the target by losing 3 wickets in 13.4 overs.

Shabnam Ismail of Sydney, who was Player of the Match, took 2 wickets for 12 runs while Sammy Jo Johnson also took 2 wickets. Heather Knight scored an unbeaten 26 for the Sydney team, chasing a modest target of 87 runs. He hit 2 fours and 1 six off 19 balls.

Read, Virat Kohli, the most busy cricketer of the decade, know who is in the top-5

Rachel Trenaman of the Thunder team scored 23 runs with the help of 5 fours off 26 balls, while Captain Haynes scored 21 not out off 17 balls with 2 fours and 1 six. Melbourne team’s Catherine Brunt, Alana King and Tess Flintoff took 1-1 wickets.

The Thunder team, captained by Rachel Haynes, won the title for the first time by defeating the Sydney Sixers in 2015-16.

After winning the toss, the batsmen of the Melbourne team came out to bat first. The team’s 5 wickets fell for just 37 runs. Catherine Brunt scored 22 not out, Annabelle Sutherland scored 20, captain Meg Lanning 13 and Natalie Shiver scored 11. Apart from him, no batsman could touch the figure of ten. Sydney teammates Samantha Bates, Hannah Darlington, Lauren Smith and Heather Knight also took 1–1 wickets.

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More